Green Gleam Project: 20 Weird, Crazy Ideas for Helping the Earth, a link post

Posted: August 11, 2010 in Green Gleam Project 8/4/10 - 8/11/10

I’d like to conclude this project with a brief link post, since I’ve been really busy over the past few days, and will be up until two weeks later, with math. School also starts soon, and I have to get through a really long book, Founding Brothers by Joseph Ellis.

So…here it is! (with some of my opinions below ^-^)

http://www.alternet.org/environment/144060/20_weird,_crazy_ideas_for_helping_the_earth

I personally think that having a “floating world” would be cool, but it would be sealing ourselves up into an earth within an earth. Maybe the planet would heal itself, maybe it won’t.

The human-powered floating gyms seem impractical to me; I agree with what the author said, about how biking and walking is already a good enough solution. It’s just that most of us would prefer cars with shade from the sun and air conditioning, a radio, and not having to walk our butts off.

I think the idea of road cells is creative, but since my vision of the far ahead future is identical to some of the science fiction/dystopian fiction I read, I have a feeling we might not have roads in the longrun… Would the investment be worth it?

Using geoengineering to cool the earth using volcanoes is a clever, but risky idea.

Giant fake trees that could suck up carbon dioxide…the scientist who proposed this made up the term “global warming”. Though the author thinks that the idea is ridiculous, I think the concept is correct. Why not try to invent something similar to that? Not to mention that people wouldn’t be able to cut them down…

nevermoraven

Comments
  1. Violet says:

    Love the fact that your doing a series of posts on helping our environment. At least we can feel relatively guilt-free about blogging: short enough (generally) that nobody needs to print them out to enjoy them 🙂

  2. buttercup600 says:

    This is awesome my friend and we all can learn from it….Keep writing….I love it!! Hugs x

Leave a Reply

