Green Gleam Project: Hand Me Downs

Posted: August 8, 2010 in Green Gleam Project 8/4/10 - 8/11/10

Apologies for having not posted yesterday, I was very busy. Since this is a week-long project, I will move what should’ve been Saturday’s post to this Wednesday.

The public image of hand-me-downs isn’t such a good one. Your little brother or sister would think of it as dull. Your favorite celebrity might say that it’s only for the poor, and tell everyone to get new clothes…well, get past those thoughts. Many celebrities were raised wearing hand-me-downs, such as Sarah Jessica Parker (who is also notorious for her black wedding gown).

My parents have never spent money on a cellphone for me—the last several phones that I’ve owned have all been hand-me-downs from my mom. And I don’t mind: my red Krazr still functions well for me and doesn’t look bad, if not a bit outdated compared to the latest smartphones. Don’t throw your old phones away: places like Best Buy will take your old phones, dismantling and recycling the recyclable parts. Or if your phone isn’t too old, they’ll put it up for sale next to the rest of the green phones. They will also take other electronics, such as monitors, cables, and TVs. But at least that phone didn’t end up in the landfill…

Hand-me-downs go past tiny electronics and clothing. College students getting the family’s oldest car is a typical thing. Cribs and baby toys are another example when all your children have gotten past that stage and you’re not planning to have any more. DVDs, CDs, video games, and even handheld consoles and the like can be passed down.

Not only does passing down things and receiving them save money, but it also helps the environment. Less things end up in the landfill. Not as many goods must be manufactured to keep up with consumers’ demands.

Have something that you don’t need but you can’t find a friend or neighbor to take it? Donate it. I donated one of my bicycles with a flat tire to a charity, and the people there were able to patch it up. It made me glad whenever I conjured up the image of children riding a bicycle and having something fun to do.

Why throw something away when it still functions? Why defeat logic? Unless the object is so wornout that it’s worthless (recycle it!), it can be passed down, donated, given away. It won’t cost you a thing because you don’t need it anymore.

If you don’t want to call everyone and ask them if they need this or if they have an object they no longer need but you do, there are plenty of websites out there that will take virtually anything.

The term “hand me downs” is no longer grimy compared to that graphic tee you saw at the mall. It’s among the elite things you can do to help save our planet.

nevermoraven

Comments
  1. Jingle says:

    I have a cell phone, but never use it…

    when one is busy making phone calls, one has NO time blogging…

    lovely writing, Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jingle says:

    I am looking at July Poets Rally entries, Glad that you have been part of our group.
    Let me know if you want to come back.
    I would be thrilled to have you.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

