Nev’s New England Trip 2010 | Part 1

Posted: August 1, 2010 in New England Trip 2010

Hello! I’m back from my trip to Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut, some of the smallest states in New England! I apologize for the lack of posts and activity and such while I was away, I didn’t have much time to write anything except for an account of what I did each day 😀 Today’s post will be on the things I saw and experienced, including my opinion.

Day 1: Flight to Boston, Massachusetts. Entertained myself by watching Animal Planet (it was about cats!) and cooking competitions on Food Network. Also the Day 1 of me beginning to like watching Food Network and imagining how great the food would taste. The hotel I stayed at, Westin, was one of those modern flashy display centers for the interior design and decor of today: bright lights, sleek and silver furniture, splatterpaint artwork. Westin is now the hotel with most floors that I have ever been to, having at least 30, and I got a brilliant bird’s eye view of Boston at night. The city I compare to someone on a caffeinated diet, because it never sleeps. After eating dinner in Chinatown (you can get the best Oriental cuisine here, Vietamese, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Korean, etc…they should call it Asia Town), my mom and I visited the next door mall. Everything was closed, but the lights were still on. The little kiosks sold cute little curios like Russian dolls (the ones that are hollow, with a littler copy inside each one), beautifully dyed scarves, and quirky hightech gadgets for those that had too much money to spend. We saw the grand ceiling-high metallic doors of Tiffany and Louis Vuitton’s extravagant display, complete with towers of cardboard boxes (I think they’re under $100).

Day 2: In the wee hours of the morning, my mom and I left the hotel room early to visit the New England Conservatory of Music (Attempt One), but it was closed. We passed by the Museum of Fine Arts, Fenway Park, and took the trolley back to Copley Square, accompanied by a group of giggly young adults speaking a language I did not recognize. Took pictures of Trinity Church, but we couldn’t fit the actual building, as tall as it was, into the camera screen. I remembered the memories of life before Florida, especially the cool temperature!

Drove to Rhode Island, which is much more “country” than Massachusetts. Arrived at hotel, slept away the rest of the day.

Day 3: Went to Providence, Rhode Island, and trekked around the campus of the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) and Brown University. It’s all up a steep hill, so I don’t want to be driving down the slope in wintertime–yikes! But at least you get exercise going between classes.

Impulsively, I bought a sketchbook at one of the art supply stores on campus. Fact: The typical RISD student spends at least $2000 on art supplies per year, though it depends on what you major in.

In the afternoon, we visited Wright’s Dairy Farm in Woonsocket and looked around the cow cafeteria: dozens of grumpy black and white cows chewing on grass the whole day in the shade, which wouldn’t be such a bad job if the smell wasn’t so bad if they each had a personal flushable toilet with Febreze. The calves were a lot cuter ♥ despite the fact that they licked my jeans and spat grass all over my hand. It’s part of the cuteness.

In the evening, we went to the mall, which had five floors. Being used to the considerably smaller, onefloor malls — I mean, mall — of Gainesville, going to all of the malls and outlets in New England was more entertaining than I expected it to be. The experience was only ruined by school uniform shopping, but that’s another story/rant.

Day 4: Visited Providence again, to see the RISD art museum. They have everything from traditional European paintings to modern abstract sculptures, faculty work to student work, and the gift shop is amazing: all the merchandise are from alumni. Kitchen tools modeled after sharks and exotic birds, vibrantly colored pet accessories, teacups with peculiar shapes, jewelry named from recycled objects, and windup toys made from rubble and shipped from Brazil…you name it.

I went to the beach in Newport to sketch the rocky coastline and compare to the sandy beaches of Florida, despite the relentless sun. It was beautiful, and that’s all I really have to say. Being a writer, I could describe it in lush, lavish vocabulary, but this is Birds Defy Gravity and not The Street Lamp. And my fingers hurt.

At the end of the day we went to the Brown University bookstore (I obsess over bookstores from Borders to Gator Orange&Blue Textbooks) and chilled out, escaping the heat. A mug was bought for my mom’s friend who collects coffee mugs, and I got a fancy hardcover notebook. Surveying the merchandise, I decided that the greatest downfall of going to Brown University would be the colors. I do not intend to wear a poop-colored hoodie. But don’t tell the people who work at the admissions office!

And…that’s part one. My eyes have burned up from staring at the computer screen @_@

nevermoraven

Comments
  1. Beverly says:

    Sorry I died for so long 😦
    I liked the green tips 😉 but I consider myself pretty green because I’m a freak about paper printing. I try not to print and when I have to freaking REDO something in school I go crazy. Plus, I’m mad about recycling (The Cheshire Cat: Oh, you can’t help that. We’re all mad here.)
    Um, yeah.

    ~Bev

Leave a Reply

