Birdseed: The Locals

Posted: June 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

A common state bird, mockingbirds are common around the country.

I have a sort of buffet in my yard set out for the neighborhood birds: mockingbirds, cardinals, mourning doves, crows (though it never crossed their minds to skip the worms…I don’t think crows like birdseed very much. Or maybe they just have a bad sense of sight :P), and the very occasional shy sparrow. There are three birdfeeders in the front yard (sunflower, safflor, niger), a tree that bears red berries, possibly holly, that the mockingbirds like to snack on and perch, and a tiny kumquat tree planted for our satisfaction, not theirs, though they’re not interested, anyway.

In the backyard, we have a small pond where the birds, and squirrels, usually stop for a drink. There used to be frogs, but my cat scared them away. There are birdhouses in both yards, inhabited by none but treacherous wasps.

I rarely see the birds around in the summer, except in the morning (I haven’t seen Red & Sweetie for a while D:). THey visit more during the spring, autumn, and early winter. After having these birdfeeders for a while, I know what stations each kind of bird likes best. The mockingbirds hang out in the holly tree, plucking the abundant supply of berries, and chattering scrapbook songs. During the year of ’08, they, and a few squirrels, devastated my sunflower seed supply. I haven’t refilled that feeder, and they haven’t visited any other feeders. Finicky and patient. The mockingbirds also enjoy perching on the trampoline, the shepherd’s hooks, and where the roof joins the porch screen, driving my cat insane. They also dare to fight hawks for the best perches, which are the streetlamps. The hawks always win by patiently ignoring the mockingbirds, but it’s very amusing to watch. The mockingbirds and crows ominously avoid each other.

Cardinals prefer sunflower, but since the mockingbirds hogged all of it, they’ve begun to eat the safflower seeds. And making my front yard their home. But now, there’s a community in my neighborhood (yay!) and you can hear them singing in the springtime and autumn. I have no idea where they’ve gone now, in the summer.

Those two types of birds are my most frequent visitors. They both stay away from the oily niger seed, though I don’t know why. All my wildbird-pampering equipment came from an old sixth grade science project.

I should refill the feeders, which I haven’t done since the winter of 2008. My parents and I have been notoriously lazy XD

* * *

Roses are great this time of year in the south. I dont know if they’ve already sold out in your area, but you should really buy some rose plants, especially Gemini roses. They look gorgeous 😀

nevermoraven

Comments
  1. Beverly says:

    Thank you for that…highly informative…article. 😛

Leave a Reply

